Amazon’s 75 Character Title Rule: The Amazon SEO Checklist for 2026

Amazon capped product titles at 75 characters, including spaces, on 27 July 2026. The cap covers every category except media. Titles still over the limit get updated to Amazon’s AI recommendation gradually, with no action from you. Brand owners get 14 days to review each recommendation first. A new Item Highlights field adds 125 characters that Amazon says are searchable. Any amazon seo checklist written before July 2026 is now out of date, because the words you cut from the title have to land somewhere.

What changed on 27 July 2026

Amazon posted the rule on Seller Forums: Updates to improve your product titles begin on July 27. From that date, titles in all categories except media need to run 75 characters or fewer, spaces included.

The same post covers the rest. After 27 July, any title still over 75 characters “will be updated to the AI recommendation gradually”. Nothing you do triggers it. Your listing stays live while Amazon works through the queue.

The January 2025 title policy still sits underneath. It caps most categories at 200 characters. It bans the special characters !, $, ?, _, {, }, ^ and two more, unless they form part of the brand name. It also stops any word appearing more than twice. Prepositions, articles and conjunctions are exempt from that count.

The 75 character cap does not replace those rules. It stacks on top. A 74 character title using the word waterproof three times still breaks policy.

Amazon’s own marketing site has not caught up. Its Amazon SEO blog post, dated 3 September 2025, still tells sellers “the Amazon product title character limit is 200, and we recommend no more than 60”. Two Amazon properties, two numbers. Trust the forum announcement. Policy lives there.

How to tell whether you are affected

Measure your own catalogue. Amazon has not published a report listing every affected ASIN, so waiting for a notification wastes time. Here is the fastest route to an answer this afternoon.

  1. In Seller Central, pull the Category Listings Report for each category you sell in. Amazon’s follow up post confirms the report now carries the Item highlights field beside Item name.
  2. Open it in a spreadsheet. Insert a column next to item_name and enter =LEN(B2). That returns characters including spaces.
  3. Sort that column high to low. Every row above 75 sits in scope.
  4. Add a column for units sold in the last 90 days. Sort by that second. Revenue now sets your rewrite order.

Brand owners also see recommendations inside their listing tools, with a review window attached. Sellers without Brand Registry get no such window in the announcement. That difference sets your urgency.

The 14 day review window

Amazon’s wording: “brand owners will have 14 days before implementation to review, modify, and approve AI-generated recommendations”. Three outcomes follow.

Do nothing and the recommendation applies on day 15. Your title becomes whatever Amazon’s model wrote. It will be compliant. It will not know which keyword earns your revenue.

Accept and you get the same result sooner. Save that for low sales listings.

Edit and you keep control. Write your own 75 character title inside the window and it stands, as long as it clears both the 2026 cap and the 2025 rules.

Rejecting barely exists as an option. Amazon names review, modify and approve. It never describes a control that keeps a title over 75 characters. It could not, because that title breaks policy. Rejection means writing a better compliant title yourself.

Item Highlights, the 125 characters you just gained

Almost nobody has written about this field. It is the part of the change that protects your traffic.

Amazon calls Item Highlights an extra 125 characters, “searchable and visible with titles in search results and on product detail pages”. Its follow up thread goes further: “Item name and Item highlights are both inputs for search, and one isn’t prioritized over the other”.

Read that again. Amazon told sellers in writing that the new field carries the same search weight as the title. Amazon rarely says anything that direct about ranking.

Amazon suggests the field for materials, use cases and comparison terms. From 10 August 2026, Item highlights display beneath the Item name on desktop and mobile.

The maths changed, but the total did not. You still have 200 characters of visible, searchable text. They now sit in two boxes with different jobs.

Where your keywords go now

Rank your terms by money, then place them in order. That habit separates a rewrite that holds ranking from one that loses it, as Amazon SEO explained covers in more depth.

Pull Search Query Performance in Brand Analytics if you have Brand Registry, and sort your ASIN’s queries by purchases. Without it, use your advertising search term report and sort by attributed sales. Our Amazon keyword research process starts here, because impressions without purchases eat all 75 characters.

Then place terms in four tiers. Highest revenue terms stay in the title. The next tier moves to Item Highlights. Detail and compatibility terms move to bullets. The rest, including misspellings, goes to search terms inside 250 bytes.

Field priority after the change

FieldLimitSearchableWhat belongs here now
Title (Item name)75 characters including spacesYes, a named search inputBrand, product noun, the differentiator that wins the click, size or count
Item Highlights125 charactersYes, and equal in weight to Item nameMaterials, use cases, comparison terms, qualifiers you removed
Bullet pointsVaries by category, no universal limit publishedNot stated by AmazonBenefits, compatibility, what is in the box
Description or A+Varies by category, no universal limit publishedNot stated by AmazonBrand story, sizing, objection handling
Search terms250 bytesYes, and never shown to shoppersMisspellings, synonyms, Spanish variants, long tail leftovers

A+ Content modules carry no title weight. Treat them as conversion surface, not keyword storage.

One worked example, at 187 characters.

Northvale 6 Quart Air Fryer Oven, 12 in 1 Digital Air Fryer with Touch Screen, Nonstick Dishwasher Safe Basket, Preheat and Shake Reminder, 1700W Countertop Cooker for Family Meals, Black

The new title runs 73 characters. Northvale 6 Quart Digital Air Fryer Oven, Nonstick Dishwasher Safe Basket.

Item Highlights takes 92 of its 125. 12 in 1 cooking presets, 1700W countertop oven, touch screen with preheat and shake reminder.

Bullets take the family meal sizing and black finish. Search terms take air fryer toaster oven combo and the misspellings. Nothing of value left the listing. It only moved.

Ten titles rewritten, before and after

Every title below is a constructed example with an invented brand name, not a live listing. They cover ten categories, so find the pattern closest to your own.

Original titleCharsRewritten titleCharsWhat moved and where
Kelmore Stainless Steel Garlic Press with Soft Grip Handle, Heavy Duty Rust Proof Garlic Mincer and Ginger Crusher, Easy Squeeze Garlic Press for Kitchen, Dishwasher Safe, Silver178Kelmore Stainless Steel Garlic Press, Soft Grip Dishwasher Safe63Mincer and ginger to Highlights; rust proof to bullets; repeat mention cut
Aviloq Orthopedic Dog Bed for Large Dogs, Memory Foam Pet Bed with Removable Washable Cover, Waterproof Liner, Non Slip Bottom, Calming Sofa Bed for Dogs up to 100 lbs, Grey, XL177Aviloq Orthopedic Memory Foam Dog Bed, Washable Cover, XL57Liner and non slip base to Highlights; weight rating to bullets; grey is a variation
Brantwell Vitamin C Serum for Face with Hyaluronic Acid and Vitamin E, Anti Aging Brightening Facial Serum for Dark Spots, Fine Lines and Wrinkles, All Skin Types, Fragrance Free, 1 fl oz187Brantwell Vitamin C Face Serum with Hyaluronic Acid, 1 fl oz60Vitamin E and fragrance free to Highlights; dark spots to bullets
Suneris 20V Cordless Drill Driver Kit with 2 Batteries and Charger, 3/8 Inch Keyless Chuck, 21 Plus 1 Torque Settings, LED Light, 30 Piece Accessory Set and Carry Case for Home DIY180Suneris 20V Cordless Drill Kit, 2 Batteries, 30 Piece Bit Set61Chuck, torque settings and LED to Highlights; case and DIY use to bullets
Torvalt Baby Bottle Sterilizer and Dryer, 6 in 1 Electric Steam Sterilizer for Baby Bottles, Pacifiers and Breast Pump Parts, LED Display, Auto Shut Off, Fits 8 Bottles, BPA Free178Torvalt Electric Baby Bottle Sterilizer and Dryer, Fits 8 Bottles65Pacifier and pump fit to Highlights; auto shut off to bullets; repeat mention cut
Milvane 100W USB C Charger Block, 4 Port GaN Fast Wall Charger with Foldable Plug for Laptops, Tablets, Phones and Handheld Consoles, Compact Travel Power Adapter, White169Milvane 100W 4 Port GaN USB C Charger, Foldable Travel Plug59Compatibility list to Highlights; wattage per port to bullets; white is a variation
Corvane Adjustable Dumbbell Set, 5 to 52.5 lb Single Dumbbell with Anti Slip Handle and Storage Tray, Space Saving Home Gym Weights for Strength Training, Sold as One Dumbbell175Corvane Adjustable Dumbbell, 5 to 52.5 lb, Anti Slip Handle59Storage tray to Highlights; single unit note to bullets; third mention was a policy risk
Lumithra Ergonomic Office Chair with Adjustable Lumbar Support, Breathable Mesh Back, 3D Armrests, Adjustable Headrest and Tilt Lock, Heavy Duty Desk Chair for Home Office, Black178Lumithra Ergonomic Mesh Office Chair, Adjustable Lumbar Support63Armrests, headrest and tilt lock to Highlights; repeat chair mention cut
Padrona Organic Ashwagandha Capsules 1300mg with Black Pepper Extract, Non GMO Vegan Supplement, 120 Count, 2 Month Supply, Third Party Tested for Purity and Potency165Padrona Organic Ashwagandha Capsules 1300mg, Vegan, 120 Count61Black pepper extract and testing to Highlights; supply count to bullets
Halbrook Expandable Garden Hose 100 ft with 10 Function Spray Nozzle, Solid Brass Fittings, No Kink Lightweight Water Hose for Yard, Lawn and Car Washing, Leak Proof Design172Halbrook 100 ft Expandable Garden Hose, Solid Brass Fittings60Spray nozzle and no kink build to Highlights; use cases to bullets

Every rewrite lands under 75 with room to spare. Leave that room. A system appended variation attribute can push a borderline title back over the line.

Writing a 75 character title that still converts

Use one order and stop improvising. Brand, core product noun, the single differentiator that decides the click, then size or count if shoppers filter on it. Nothing else fits.

The differentiator is the hard choice. Pick the attribute shoppers compare on. For a dog bed it is memory foam. For a serum it is the active ingredient. For a drill it is battery count. Pick one, not three.

Cut in this order. Repeated brand mentions go first, because Amazon displays your brand above the title anyway. Compatibility lists go second, since Item Highlights handles them better. Adjective stacks go third: premium, heavy duty and professional grade sell nothing and cost 40 characters. Pack quantity goes last, and only when it is already a variation.

Watch the 2025 rules while you cut. A shorter title makes repeated words more obvious, not less.

What Amazon has not answered

One seller asked five operational questions in the New Title Requirements thread. A moderator closed it without answering any. We track them here and date each check.

Question askedAsked whereAmazon’s answerLast checked
Will Amazon release updated flat files that include an Item Highlights fieldNew Title Requirements thread, Seller ForumsNo answer. Thread closed by a moderator28 August 2026
Will there be bulk upload support for Item HighlightsNew Title Requirements thread, Seller ForumsNo answer in the thread. A separate Amazon FAQ post points sellers to the Category Listings report and the List Your Products tool, and says listings update within about eight hours. Flat file and Listing Loader paths remain unaddressed28 August 2026
Will API integrations support this attributeNew Title Requirements thread, Seller ForumsNo answer28 August 2026
Will Amazon provide a report identifying affected ASINs and title compliance issuesNew Title Requirements thread, Seller ForumsNo answer. Sellers still measure their own catalogue28 August 2026
What is the expected timeline for enforcementNew Title Requirements thread, Seller ForumsNo answer beyond the word gradually in the original announcement28 August 2026

The bulk upload row is the only one with movement, and only in part. Amazon answered it in a different post and never returned to the thread. If you rely on flat files or a third party feed, plan for manual work until Amazon says otherwise.

The Amazon SEO Checklist to Run This Week

Run these seven steps in order. Skipping the ranking step is how sellers lose sales they never trace back.

First, export the Category Listings Report for every category you sell in. Second, add the =LEN() column and flag every title over 75 characters. Third, rank each flagged ASIN’s terms by purchases. Fourth, draft the new title using the brand, noun, differentiator and size order.

Fifth, write Item Highlights in the same sitting, while you remember what you removed. Sixth, rebuild search terms so the leftovers stay indexed inside 250 bytes. Seventh, wait 48 hours, then search your key phrases and confirm the ASIN still returns.

Work top down by revenue. Fifty listings done properly beat five hundred done in a batch.

Frequently asked questions

When did the Amazon 75 character title rule take effect?

The rule took effect on 27 July 2026. Amazon announced it on Seller Forums and started applying AI recommendations to non compliant listings from that date. The rollout runs gradually, so a listing over the limit today may still show its old title. It remains in scope.

Does the 75 character limit apply to every category?

It applies to all categories except media. Amazon’s announcement names media as the only exclusion, so books, music, video and similar products keep their existing title allowance. Every other category, from grocery to industrial supplies, now caps titles at 75 characters including spaces.

What happens if I do not change my title?

Amazon updates it for you. The announcement says titles still over 75 characters get updated to the AI recommendation gradually. Your listing stays live throughout. The risk is not suspension. The risk is a model with no view of your revenue choosing which keywords survive.

Can I reject Amazon’s AI title recommendation?

Not in the sense of keeping a longer title. Amazon offers review, modify and approve for brand owners. No path leads back to a title over 75 characters, because that title breaks policy. You can replace the recommendation with your own compliant version inside the review window.

How long do I have to review the recommendation?

Brand owners get 14 days before implementation to review, modify and approve the AI generated recommendation. Amazon’s announcement gives sellers without Brand Registry no such window. If you hold Brand Registry, treat those 14 days as your only chance to control the outcome.

What is the Item Highlights field and is it searchable?

Item Highlights is a new field giving an extra 125 characters. Amazon states the content is searchable and appears with titles in search results and on detail pages. Amazon also said Item name and Item highlights are both search inputs, with neither prioritised over the other.

Can I bulk upload Item Highlights?

Partly. Amazon’s FAQ post says you can download the Category Listings report, which now shows Item highlights beside Item name. Edit both fields, then upload through the List Your Products tool. Listings typically update within eight hours. Whether flat files support the field stays unanswered.

Does a flat file support Item Highlights yet?

Amazon has not published an answer. A seller asked this on Seller Forums and a moderator closed the thread without responding. As of 28 August 2026 the only confirmed bulk route is the Category Listings report. Check that report before you build feed logic around the field.

Will changing my title reset my keyword ranking?

Amazon does not publish how title edits affect ranking, so treat any specific claim with suspicion. What you control is continuity. Keep your highest converting terms inside the 75 characters, move the rest into Item Highlights and search terms, then check indexing 48 hours later.

Where do my extra keywords go now?

Into Item Highlights first, at 125 characters, because Amazon confirmed that field feeds search. Detail and compatibility terms go into bullets. Misspellings, synonyms and long tail phrases go into search terms inside 250 bytes. Nothing needs deleting. It needs redistributing by revenue value.

Does the rule apply to books and media?

No. Media sits outside the 75 character cap in Amazon’s announcement. Book sellers keep the longer title allowance, which matters because series names, edition details and formats often need the space. The January 2025 rules on banned characters and repeated words still apply to those listings.

How do I find every listing in my catalogue that is over the limit?

Download the Category Listings Report from Seller Central for each category. Open it in a spreadsheet, add a =LEN() column against item_name, and sort high to low. Everything above 75 needs work. Amazon has not released a report that flags affected ASINs for you.

Get the rewrite done before Amazon does it for you

Waiting on titles costs you something no report will show. If a manual pass is not realistic before Amazon reaches your ASINs, our listing optimisation service handles the export, the ranking and the rewrite. The audit before we start is free, and every file stays yours.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *